City Officials and Committees


“Heaven amongst the Cedars”

PO Box 339

100 East First Street

Mechanicsville, IA 52306

Telephone (563) 432-7756  Fax (563) 432-7199

Web page:



Your City council....


The council consists of five members elected at large for overlapping terms of four years.  The Council operates under home rule authority, as provided by the State Code of Iowa.  Regular City Council meetings are the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Often times a special meeting is held on the fourth Monday of each month.  Meetings take place at City Hall located at 100 East First Street.  All meetings are open to the public.  Meeting agendas are posted the Friday before the next scheduled council meeting at City Hall and the Post Office bulletin board.




David Furry 563-432-7473

The mayor is elected for a term of four years.  His current term expires December 31, 2021.  The mayor appoints the following officials; Mayor pro-tem, Police Chief and Library Board of Trustees.  The mayor is not a member of the Council and may not vote as a member of the Council.


Mayor Pro Tem...

Andrew Oberbreckling

The Mayor Pro Tem is vice president of the Council.  The Mayor Pro Tem shall perform the duties of the Mayor in cases of absence or inability of the Mayor to perform such duties.  The Mayor Pro Tem shall have the right to vote as a member of the Council.   The term expires December 31, 2019.


Council Members....

The council shall appoint the following officials and prescribe their powers, duties, compensation and term of office, City Clerk, City Attorney, City Treasurer, Planning and Zoning Commission, Zoning Board of Adjustments.



Pam Cavey 563-432-6339

Rob Davis 563-432-6611

Eric Nehring 563-432-xxxx

Andrew Oberbreckling 563-432-7460

Dee Taylor 563-432-7291


City Clerk/Finance Officer  Linda Coppess                    

Public Works Director         Nick Lange

Police Chief                         Timothy Horihan

Fire Chief                             Lonni Koch

Ambulance Coordinator      Lonni Koch

Librarian                              Meredith Dehmer

City Attorney                        Adrian Knuth


Program Committees 2019


Employee Handbook

Drug & Alcohol Policy Regulated Employees

Drug & Alcohol Policy Non-Regulated Employees